Honda Civic Forum

Honda Civic Forum (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/)
-   Detailing (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/35-detailing)
-   -   Clay Bar??? (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/35-detailing/273724-clay-bar.html)

realitycheck 08-08-2006 12:08 PM

Clay Bar???

Alright guys I searched but just didnt find any answers really. Maybe I didnt search hard enough, just hard here at work. Anyway, I want to clay my car, it has never been done before and i've never done it before. I have no clue what this process entails. If someone could give a detailed description on how to clay your car the before and after steps. Including what to do before you clay, how you clay and what to do and use after you clay??? Im also wondering what products people find work the best??? Thanks for your help.

soonercivic 08-08-2006 09:32 PM

Its pretty basic. If you go to a local auto shop you can pick up the Meguiars Quik Clay kit, and Mothers makes one too.

1. Wash so that you dont rub dirt around on the surface.

2. Clay. This is done by using a lubricant, like a spray detailer, and a clay bar. You just spray the detailer on, rub the clay bar around in an organized pattern so you know what you have done, and wipe off with a microfiber cloth. Make sure the surface is cool to the touch or the clay will stick. Also be sure and use plenty of lubricant so that you smoothly glide over the surface. Also fold the bar over on itself as you go around the car, this prevents scratches.

3. Wash the car again. This is to remove any clay residue.

4. This is the stage that you can use an abrasive or scratch remover to remove any surface defects. Make sure the car is completely dry.

5.Polish. Make sure you use a pure polish, they are easy to find when you get the clay bar. Just wipe on and wipe off. This step is very important because the clay bar will remove some of the paints natural oils. If you don't replenish them then the paint will fade and crack pramaturely.