Honda Civic Forum

Honda Civic Forum (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/)
-   6th Generation Civic 1996 - 2000 (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/183-6th-generation-civic-1996-2000)
-   -   Easy Performance Mods (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/183-6th-generation-civic-1996-2000/341742-easy-performance-mods.html)

Tyrant2012 06-19-2011 01:17 AM

Easy Performance Mods

2 Attachment(s)
Hello,
I have a few questions as I am not that experienced with cars. I own a 1998 Honda Civic LX 16YB engine I believe. I just had my entire body re-done with the SI paint new grill, HID 8000K lights, blue LED dome lightening inside,got a nice stereo in it, had my head gaskets, timing belt, radiator, water pump and pulley systems re-done and replaced. Also has fully adjustable stiff springs on it now. Soon to be buying new taillights 15 inch blacked out rims and a few other things for it like fog lights and some small interior things like new mats etc. Well to get to the point I want to add a little more Umph under the hood as the engine and as far performance its pretty much stock. So I want some advice on some somewhat cheap and easy mods I can do to the engine or car itself to give it maybe 10 to 25 more HP. I dont want to do anything major like a turbo or something like that. From what I know I should put a nice Cold air intake on it and performance spark plug wires and plugs. I dont want a exhaust kit though. So if anyone can give me some advice or recommandations would be greatly appreciated thanks alot.

Attachment 100457

Attachment 100458

MelJ 06-19-2011 06:35 AM

Re: Easy Performance Mods

Intake and plugs will give you minimal gains at best. You probably wouldn't even notice them to be honest. You're looking at a swap(my suggestion), upgraded exhaust along with the intake, different cams, and other internals.

02civicsi02 06-19-2011 09:08 PM

Intake will give like 4 hp, the plugs won't really do anything. Upgrade exhaust, header, cams, ecu. Or you can swap.