Honda Civic Forum

Honda Civic Forum (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/)
-   Fuel, Oil, Cleaners & Other Maintenance (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/140-fuel-oil-cleaners-other-maintenance)
-   -   What do I need to do for proper maintenance? (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/140-fuel-oil-cleaners-other-maintenance/284092-what-do-i-need-do-proper-maintenance.html)

likiud 11-16-2006 11:19 AM

What do I need to do for proper maintenance?

I'm new to the mechanics of car... I've been driving my 05 Civic for almost 2 years now and haven't done any maintenance on it... not even oil change... my dealership said to change oil every 8000km... so far, I only have 7300km over these two years... mostly only driven to campus and work which is very close by where I live... some people suggest changing oil every year...

Will it also hurt my car if I change oil too often? I don't mind that because I got the oil change for life from Honda...

I also heard I need to change wipers every year...
Some people suggest changing air filter when I'm going in for oil change too... and I have no idea what or where it is under the hood...

My dad suggested a "tune-up"? I don't know what that is, and don't want to sound stupid by asking my dad what it is...

I live in Vancouver, BC... so the winters here aren't very cold either...
Are all those things necessary? Is there anything I missed to keep proper maintenance of my car?

Thanks in advance. Truly appreciate it if someone could help me out. I'm really a pure noob when it comes to cars... =/

CraigW 11-16-2006 11:26 AM

Short trips in cold weather are not good, You should be changing your oil more often IMO.

Wiper refills about once a year for me, I always keep a spare set ready. Winter blades during the coldest and snow and then back to originals.

Air and cabin filters would be due at 25-30 k miles.