Suspension Post your issues with Suspension here! Suspension will cover from Steering Column (Steer Wheel is in interior), Suspension, Bearing and Hubs

Need a little help...

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2018
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
jose_rodz148 is an unknown quantity at this point
Need a little help...

Hey all, this is my first post on this forum and I'm new to Civic ownership. I just bought a cheap and cheerful 2002 DX coupe with the proper 5-speed manual, yay! I didn't really do that thorough inspection of this car when I bought, since it drove very well for a 16+ year old car. Now that I've had it for a couple days ive had time to notice the little things wrong with the car, mostly cosmetic, as well as some atrocious accident repair, but still very acceptable in my opinion. The reason I'm here and the reason I need help is one concern with the right front suspension. I didn't notice this when I bought the car and now that I've seen it, it does explain a couple things. Since I don't have the vocabulary I'm just going to explain as I see it. While the left front wheel is perfectly situated inside the wheel well, nice and centered, the right wheel is not. It sits further back and leaves a noticeable gap between it and the front of the wheel well. If I remember correctly, this has to do with suspension alignment or incorrectly installed components. The previous owner told me and showed me receipts for a front crossmember that had to be replaced in order for the suspension to be able to be aligned, and as far as I know, the alignment is fine, not perfect but fine. What concerns me is the position of the wheel and the fact that the turning circle in this car is different when turning left versus right. Of course now I ask, any chance of fixing this problem with proper adjustment??? Of course, I won't be doing the work since I swore I would never work on a Honda suspension after the last time I did it on an Accord I used to have. I'll post a pic la