Wheels, Tires & Brakes Modifications Post Wheel, Tire & Brake related modification information and/or questions here

What Brand of Rotors and Pads?

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2014
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
bluehawk91 is an unknown quantity at this point
What Brand of Rotors and Pads?

Hi Everyone,

I'm looking to do a brake job for 2002 Civic LX. I have been watching videos on YouTube and have looked at the DIY articles about brake job. I have some questions and concerns regarding this job. I haven't worked on a car much. I'm a beginner. I've just done oil change my self so far.

I'm feeling pulsations when brakes are being applied. This is from the front. Also, it's been very long since the brakes were done (6 years). Rotots Warped? I also feel car suspension is bad. Car ride not smooth and have noise in the pot holes, but I'd leave it for some other time.

Anyways, my questions are:

1) What brand of Rotors and Brake Pads would you recommend? I'm just looking for quality not performance.

I've selected Akebono Pads (ACT 465A) and Power Stop JBR522XPR Rotor from Rock Auto. Does anyone have any recommendation for local part supplier in Toronto?

2) What are the problems that I may encounter during the job? So I could try to learn beforehand. I find the bolts are sometimes pain to remove. I really don't prefer to use excessive force. I'm going to buy pb blaster and spray it night before to be able to remove easily.

I've attached the parts list files that I'd require for the brake job. I'm worried about the shims. I'm not sure if shims will be good? It wastes too much time trying to run for the parts. I have had to do it for the oil drain plug gasket. Additional Tool: Rubber Mallet.

Thank you very much!
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
Parts_list.pdf (151.3 KB, 98 views)
File Type: pdf
Parts2.pdf (257.1 KB, 70 views)
Old 08-23-2014
35+ Years Driving Japanese Autos

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts