Exterior Post your issues with Exterior parts here! Exterior covers Body, Doors, Locks, Physical Removal/install lights, Hoods, fenders, etc. For Fundamentally Electrical issues, post on Electrical

2010 EX sedan window channel molding rippling/folding outward

Old 05-14-2019
Registered!!

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts
RHewitt is an unknown quantity at this point
2010 EX sedan window channel molding rippling/folding outward

Hello, everyone. This is my first time posting here, and being still a learner when it comes to some things, I may not be using proper terminology, so bear with me and correct me as needed so that I can have an easier time communicating.

I recently bought a 2010 Civic EX sedan with only 34,000 miles on it - everything was in good shape, but I was of course worried about some issues since, low mileage it may be, it's still spent ten years living in northern Ohio weather. I have noticed when opening the driver's side window while it is wet(as I work newspaper delivery, this happens a lot on rainy nights), it struggles to open - it's a power window, and it will open with jolts rather than smoothly, often clicking as it does so. A bit of WD-40 fixes this for a couple nights, but it always comes back - on the advice of a friend I used white lithium grease for a seemingly more permanent fix. Recently, I noticed that when closing, the weather stripping on the window channel(outside-back of the driver's window, specifically) folds outwards is some spots - it folds inwards everywhere else on every other window. I notice near the top of it there is a crack where this tendency to fold outwards begins, and when above 30MPH there is some extra wind noise. While the window is open, there are what I can only describe as "ripples" in the stripping, as well.