Engine Post your engine related problems in this section. Engines will cover from Fuel, Engine, Cooling, Exhaust physical related items.

Gas mileage suddenly bad.

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2018
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
juror will become famous soon enough
Gas mileage suddenly bad.

Title says it all. I've been making the same 25 mile (one-way) commute for the last 2 years, and have become accustomed to getting a strong 35 mpg in the summer, and a little worse in the winter. Suddenly, I'm at a weak 30 as of a couple of tanks ago. Our mileage over the Thanksgiving holiday was also pretty weak for light traffic highway driving, say 33 instead of the usual 37-38.

Earlier in the fall (October?) the MIL came on with a P0139. It went out before I got a chance to order a new one. It came on again and went back off the next day a week later. The MIL is currently off, but this suggests that the sensor might be marginal?

Given that a downstream O2 sensor is $28 on rockauto.com for Denso 234-4220 (which is the OEM part, as near as I can tell?), should I just throw one at the car and see if things perk back up? Or is there something else I should check first?

Unrelatedly, I need new wiper blades, so the shipping from rockauto is essentially free if I compare the cost of buying wiper blades locally, so we can ignore that cost. Actually, for what wiper blades go for retail, I'm probably down to about $10 or $15 for the O2 sensor...

Prior, possibly relevant thread about the same car:
https://www.civicforums.com/forums/3...placement.html

TL;DR: The downstream cat was replaced in January 2018, with the original downstream O2 sensor retained. It failed a month or two later and I had them replace the downstream O2 sensor (I thought maybe there was another leak based on the sound, they determined it was the O2 sensor. I had them fix it because they're good guys and I usually only bring them problems I can't fix).

Thanks!
Old 12-14-2018
Registered!!