Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

05 headgasket coolant overflow and p0420 cat, car life?

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2018
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
civicProb00 is an unknown quantity at this point
05 headgasket coolant overflow and p0420 cat, car life?

Hi guys, need some advice. Debating if I should fix my 05 civic ex with 170km.
  • I've been driving with a bad head gasket for over 2 years in the midwest
    • based on coolant reservoir overflow filled to the top and dripping down the reservoir or fan and air filter housing (during 3k RPM or highway).
    • Fill radiator cap at least once a week or before long travel of 4hr.
    • Temp gauge did reach to top before I stop by gas station and let it cool down. This happen 2 year ago (summer) and I was driving in highway and there happen to be a ramp nearby.
    • Coolant reservoir does have a black "tar" substance in it. Saw somewhere on ericTheCarGuy forums and he mention it has to do with combustion gas.
  • P0420 Cat code appear 1 year later along with O2 sensor codes
    • I'm thinking this must be due to coolant leaking.
    • State don't do emission test so not going to worry too much about it.
  • Valve cover gasket is also leaking oil.
  • Recently noticed this month car shake after starting up from work. Misfiring? It doesn't happen every day. Maybe 1 every 10 days.
How long can I continue to drive it before complete engine failure, as long as I fill radiator?

Did Honda corrected transmission from 03 and up?
I know 7th gen has transmission issue and I have not noticed any slipping yet. There are reports on cars complaint .com but not as much as the 01-02. I think I read somewhere here that Honda did not fix the issue. Can someone clarify?