Electrical Post your questions about electrical issues here!

Alternator Top Bracket Threading & Bolt Issue

Old 05-01-2015
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tarbris is an unknown quantity at this point
Alternator Top Bracket Threading & Bolt Issue

I have a 2004 Honda Civic si 1.7L

It started when I heard an awful rattling noise coming from my engine. Inspecting it further, I found the top bolt that holds my alternator had slid out. I tried putting it back in, but it gets "stuck". I can hand-screw it very lightly at first, but then it gives a lot of resistance and I can't tighten all the way even with a wrench. I didn't force it for fear of torquing the head off it or something.

I've been told to retap the thread and use a die tool on the bolt, but I'm unsure if I need to know the diameter/threading before hand.

Apologies for the noob question. I'm a noob.
Old 05-01-2015
Registered!!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
pjb3 is a glorious beacon of lightpjb3 is a glorious beacon of lightpjb3 is a glorious beacon of lightpjb3 is a glorious beacon of lightpjb3 is a glorious beacon of lightpjb3 is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Alternator Top Bracket Threading & Bolt Issue

Yes, you will need to know the size of the bolt to get the correct tap. I would also recommend that you use a bottoming tap or a plug tap if available. A regular tap has a taper and starts cutting threads gradually while a bottoming tap looks more like a bolt and starts cutting threads more quickly. When you are cleaning up the threads in an existing hole a bottoming tap is preferred and if it is a blind hole a bottoming tap will cut threads all the way to the bottom. You can use a regular tapered tap but make sure that you are cleaning up the exiting threads and not cutting new threads.

You can use a die to clean the threads on the bolt but it would probably be easier to just buy a new bolt of the same size and length.
Old 05-01-2015
Registered!!