Engine Post your engine related problems in this section. Engines will cover from Fuel, Engine, Cooling, Exhaust physical related items.

02 Civic EX 1.7l radiator cooling fan replacement steps?

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2012
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
indecks is an unknown quantity at this point
02 Civic EX 1.7l radiator cooling fan replacement steps?

Hello there. I have determined that my cooling fan is burned out in my 2002 civic EX. I know I need to replace it, but I can't for the life of me find a tutorial on how to do it. I'm a novice mechanic, if you can even call me that. I can replace sparkplugs, air filters, etc but not swap a transmission or timing belt, and things like that.

I've found a few vids on youtube on how to replace the fan in a YearX to YearZ ACCORD, but nothing on a 2002 civic. My father in law is a mechanic, who lives in another city, so he can't really pop by to do this for me, so I'd like to see about tackling it myself. He told me that the bumper, radiator, and all kinds of extra parts need to be removed in order to get to the fan. But looking into my engine, it almost looks like I can get to it and do it myself. I found a question on one of those Ask/Yahoo answers type sites that had the same question as me, and the only response was "unscrew, unplug, remove, replace, replug, rescrew" which wasn't very helpful.

Does anyone know if this is something that can be done without dismantling the front end of the vehicle? And if so, would you be able to provide a few of the steps to get me started?

Thanks for any of your help.
Old 07-01-2012
Registered!!

Re: 02 Civic EX 1.7l radiator cooling fan replacement steps?

anyone?
Old 07-01-2012
35+ Years Driving Japanese Autos

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts