SOHC D17Ax non-VTEC - VTEC Engine Swaps Post information/questions about non-VTEC VTEC D-series engines here.

Motor and Transmission swap help???

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2011
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
DementedEM2 is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Motor and Transmission swap help???

Okay, im completely new to the honda world and i have an EM2 its an 03 Civic EX with the stock D17A2 and auto tranny. A few months ago the tranny went out so it had been sitting there till i had went and picked up a 01 EM2 four door ex with same motor and tranny and i did a swap over all together to get my car running, and when i swapped it over got it all plugged in and wired up right it started just fine but my check engne light is now on, i believe if the D on the cluster for the tranny is blinking its a tranny error, and the engine is idling up and down on its own. So i had a few questions:
what the transmission error could be if the D is blinking on the cluster?

Why the engine is idling up and down on its own?

If i have to move over ECM out the 01 to my 03?

Last question,
If i have to move over wiring harnesses?

If you have anny suggestions they would be much appreciated.
Old 05-18-2011
Whachya lookin at?

Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
BlueEM2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlueEM2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlueEM2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlueEM2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlueEM2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlueEM2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlueEM2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlueEM2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlueEM2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlueEM2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlueEM2 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Motor and Transmission swap help???