Suspension Post your issues with Suspension here! Suspension will cover from Steering Column (Steer Wheel is in interior), Suspension, Bearing and Hubs

2012 civic ex Front Wheel bearing

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2018
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
mfoley312 is an unknown quantity at this point
2012 civic ex Front Wheel bearing

Hey all,
I have a 2012 civic that I believe needs new front wheel bearings. I'm a self-taught DIYer using videos and such as my teaching tool and have replaced a few things including bearings on my ford ranger, but I can't find a video for a civic of this year. Can anyone tell me if this car takes a wheel bearing that needs to be pressed out and back in or if the bearing comes preset in a hub assembly type of fashion?

Thanks in advance
Old 04-17-2018
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts
ezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 2012 civic ex Front Wheel bearing

Both bearings? You positive it's not just choppy tire tread that's noisy?

Front bearing has to be pressed.

Bearings are also directional nowadays. If you get it backwards, the ABS will hate you...and you end up needing yet another bearing.

It's also best practice to have a wheel alignment done after bearing replacement/knuckle removal. The little bit of slop in the strut-to-knuckle bolts can allow about a half degree of camber change, and a whole bunch of toe change.
Old 04-18-2018
Registered!!

No I'm don't think it's both besrings, I think it's the front left, but if I did one, I'd do the other.