SOHC D17Ax non-VTEC - VTEC Engine Swaps Post information/questions about non-VTEC VTEC D-series engines here.

questions on D17A motor and tranny swap in place of d17a1

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2017
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
jmm081489 is an unknown quantity at this point
questions on D17A motor and tranny swap in place of d17a1

Forgive me as I am new to the Honda game and am in desperate need of help, but i bought a 4 door 04 civic (not sure what model no badges on the car and doesn't say on the title) I believe it is a dx (basic crank windows nothing fancy in the vehicle) with a blown d17a1 motor and want to buy a complete d17a jdm motor and tranny swap from the warehouse to put in it's place. the car has about 200,000 on it so i figured why just swap the motor when for an extra $200 you can get the complete motor and tranny with all the bolt ons and just drop it in. well after doing some reading i have found that people are having issues with the jdm tranny since there is no d3 in the tranny that comes with the d17a ( something to do with the TRS), also I have read some people say one is vtec and the other not (I was under the impression neither were). If one is and the other isn't what will I have to add/remove/modify? Like I said please bare with me this is a first for me, the warehouse specifies to make sure your vin starts with a 1. well mine starts a 2. can anyone please enlighten me on the issues i am going to run into if i try and swap out the original d17a1 with the jdm d17a. thank you all i really appreciate all the advice/help I can get.

Last edited by jmm081489; 09-14-2017 at 05:54 AM. Reason: wrong year
Old 09-18-2017
Registered!!

Exclamation Re: questions on D17A motor and tranny swap in place of d17a1