Overheating or loss of coolant, heater blowing cold If you are having overheating of loss of coolant issues, post here!

New to forum! Need some help

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2019
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
05ex1.7 is an unknown quantity at this point
New to forum! Need some help

Hello all my name is mike just decided to join. Recently purchased a 2005 Honda civic ex 1.7 vtec. Bought it drove it home and it started overheating. And its probably overheated 30 times since. I am new to these gen hondas so no at the time i didnt know about the FAMOUS overheating problem they have. I found out the hard way. I quickly investigated and decided to replace thermostat fresh coolant bled it several times from the temp sensor area. It would always seem to keep blowing coolant out of the resevoir. Being i found out more than likely it was headgasket and i had bubbles coming up i went ahead and took the cylinder head off. Upon inspection it looked pretty chewed up. Soo. Next step i took was checked it for warpage. It was so it is currently at machine shop getting rebuilt and decked. I went ahead and ordered the entire headgasket kit from majestic honda which is everything from headgasket and up. Also timing belt kit with tensioner and waterpump from honda. So my problem is i decided to check my engine block deck surface and sure enough its warped i can slide .008 feeler guage in between straight edge. Soo. This engine ran fantastic no problems or noises just kept overheating it has 175,000 miles. Obviously motor has to come out to either A: machine it and rebuild it. B: buy used jdm engine off ebay and hope it will serve me well. C: i found a short block assembly on ebay it appears to have everything except oil pan and head. But my issue with that is the part numbers. I cant make out the last few letters or numbers it says but i currently have the D17A2. And this one is a D17Z something. I cannot find any information on what the difference is so im hoping so