Wheels, Tires & Brakes Modifications Post Wheel, Tire & Brake related modification information and/or questions here.

Is it ok to use wheel spacers?

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2017
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Farrsolo is an unknown quantity at this point
Is it ok to use wheel spacers?

Hi, I am new to the Civic world. Just leased a 2017 Civic Touring Sedan. Car is very nice, I enjoy my commute to work. However that time is approaching when the winters need to go on. I opted for full buyback of my Jetta TDI this summer and am left with a brand new set of winter tires which I paid around $900. Trying to sell them but probably won't get much for them as the market is flooded with all the VW cars being returned.

Anyways, they are a 5x112mm bolt pattern, which doesn't match the civic's 5x114.3mm. I checked out ebay and found these

I have never used wheel spacers, but spending $200 on them to be able to use my tires seems more sensible than selling them for $400 and then purchasing a new set for another $800-$1000.

Any drawbacks other then the tires sticking out an 1" wider than normal? How is handling affected? I don't think there would be any clearance issues, but maybe?

Thanks!!
Old 09-05-2017
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts
ezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Is it ok to use wheel spacers?

Short answer is 'don't'.
Long answer is "it's complicated and there are risks, but maybe".
You didn't give enough info to go much further.
Old 09-06-2017
PITA Admin
Administrator

Received 1,440 Likes on 1,196 Posts