10th Generation Civic 2016-2021 Discussion for the 2016 to 2021 Honda Civics.
Chassis codes: FC1, FC2, FC3, FC4, FK4, FK7, FK8

18 mpg ??

Old 10-09-2017
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
kuroi is an unknown quantity at this point
18 mpg ??

Hello. Im new to this.

I just bought a 2017 Civic Hatchback

I noticed that the average mpg display shows that I am only getting 18 miles per gallon.

I have only been driving in the City. But, it is supposed to be 'up to' 31 mpg in the city. So, I expected to see much better than 18.

I have been driving pretty conservatively.

Do any of you experience this?
Old 10-10-2017
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts
ezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 18 mpg ??

It ALL depends on your driving. You're only going to get near or above the 31 MPG if you can go loooong stretches at about 40-45 MPH with very little stopping.

Every time you are stopped, in traffic not moving, moving real slow, stop and go, your gas mileage will be crappy. You are burning fuel but not accumulating miles, that's still rolled in the calculated average. You can watch the mileage numbers drop while sitting still.

'up to' 31 mpg in the city
"up to" includes the number ZERO.

TIP: set up your display to reset Trip A with every refuel, this automatically resets your fuel economy to zero at the start of the tank.....and by the end of that tank you can see the average of just that tankfull.
You will be able to watch your average recalculate every several seconds at first, and it will lessen as you rack up some miles.