Bolt-on Engine Performance Modifications Intake, header, exhaust, flywheel, pulley and other bolt on information and questions belong here.

Cheapest bolt on for the most power

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2018
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
kapicarules is an unknown quantity at this point
Cheapest bolt on for the most power

Hey im new to the the forums here, but im in the process of acquiring a 1997 Honda Civic DX sedan with a Automatic trans from a friend for 400 bucks. My goal is make it into something fast but i don't have much money for mods to do all at once. Im planning on building over a period time. My goal eventually is to do a b18 or b20 swap but for now im looking for the cheapest engine mod i can do to gain a bit more power (The d16 in it has 183,000 miles and makes like 100 something hp from the factory). Im thinking do a intake and exhaust at first then once i get another 1000 or so bucks ill swap the engine. My budget for the stock d16 to mod is like 150-200 dollars. What do you guys recommend to gain some power over stock with simple bolt ons i can do the first or 2nd day of ownership? First im definitively doing an intake (which i can make by myself with a pipe and a cone filter) and then cut out the resonator to make the stock exhaust flow better (I would cut the catalytic converter but illinois requires a obd2 smog check). The first thing i will for sure do is do a tune up, change the timing belt, and fix one of the fenders due to a side impact that happened a long time ago.

Future mods will be listed below.

B20B LS/TEC build
-stock b20b bottom end
-B18 head
-tune (someone told me about a local tuning shop who does dyno tunes cheap)
ill list more once i get the car
Old 07-18-2018
Registered!!

RobertD is a jewel in the roughRobertD is a jewel in the roughRobertD is a jewel in the rough
Re: Cheapest bolt on for the most power