I.C.E. (Audio) & Electrical Upgrades Post all your I.C.E. (In Car Entertainment) and wiring questions here (Audio, video etc.)

DIY: Amp Wiring 2k1civic coupe

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2002
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Dmitri is an unknown quantity at this point
DIY: Amp Wiring 2k1civic coupe

I know there are many different ways to wire your amplifier if placed in the trunk, but this may give some of you a good start. I'm no pro and there is probably a better way of doing this.

Power Wire:

There are 3 plastic panels that will need to be removed. The first is right above where the passenger's feet are. There are 3 spots towards the back of the vehicle that snap on. Pop these off by pulling down.

The other two plastic pieces to remove are the one at the bottom of the passenger door opening and the one just next to it towards the front of the vehicle. These simply pull off.

Once removed, you will have to pull back the carpet a little just below where you pulled off the first plastic panel. There's just a piece of velcro holding it in place.

Behind that, there is a rubber grommet. Using a completely straightened wire coat hanger, poke it through the grommet where there is an opening. You may have to try a few times to get it to go through.

Once through, look in the engine bay where it came out and pull it up enough so that you can tape about 5 inches or so of the power wire to the coat hanger. Make sure you don't pull the coat hanger all the way through. You will want to tape it so that it can easily go through the first small hole created, expanding it with just the wire to expand it.

Pull the wire back through, and there you go. One of the hard parts done.

Now route the wire behind the carpet (stay under the velcro piece), and over to the other two panels that you removed. You can tie the power wire directly to another wire running along the same path.