I.C.E. (Audio) & Electrical Upgrades Post all your I.C.E. (In Car Entertainment) and wiring questions here (Audio, video etc.)

sealed qform kick panels installed!!! (with pics)

Old 08-17-2003
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
gliph is an unknown quantity at this point
Talking sealed qform kick panels installed!!! (with pics)

I am finally finished with my speaker install.... I can hardly believe it! First of all I would like to thank everyone who has helped with their posts, given ideas, suggestions, etc, etc. This wouldn't be finished or sound half as amazing if it wasn't for all of you! Definite thanks to mohawk, whiterabbit, regularjoe just to name a few... and props to my wife for thinking outside the box and coming up with this idea...

I wanted to post some pics and info on my q-form install. There is no way i'd be able to do a fiberglass enclosure to make sure these things were sealed, I have zero experience with that stuff and i wasn't going to take the time to learn... So my wife came up with a different idea... a coffee can... it sounds a bit crazy, but it is the PERFECT diameter for 6.5" components and for use with q-forms. I ended up using several layers of fatmat to strengthen them up and make sure they didn't resonate like crazy. As you can see in the pics below they ended up being around .5 cu.ft. (rough estimate) and sound AMAZING. I can put together a DIY if people are interested, I thought i'd try it first to make sure it acutally works and sounds good....

Feedback would definitely be appreciated... btw, the q-forms look like a$$ right now, they are very easy to chip up when cutting holes and doing like 5,000 test fits... anyone know where i can pick up some touch up paint?
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	qform-back.jpg
Views:	389
Size:	22.8 KB
ID:	7294  

Last edited by gliph; 08-17-2003 at 08:59 PM.
Old 08-17-2003
Registered!!