General 8th & 9th Gen Got a question or want to post but it doesn't quite fall under any other topic? Post up here!

Mechanic Obligations Regarding Misdiagnosis?

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2018
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
shaunanb is an unknown quantity at this point
Unhappy Mechanic Obligations Regarding Misdiagnosis?

My 2007 Hond Civic (190k miles) stopped working last month. (Specifically, acceleration began losing its power, and on the way up a hill, the brakes and steering locked up, the lights flashed, and the car wouldn't move until we got it on level ground.)

A mechanic (who is a friend of a friend) said he could do it for $1,000 tops. He called me the day I was expecting it to be ready and informed me that it wasn't just the head gasket -- the whole engine needed to be fixed. (He was breaking up and I was emotional over the news, but I think he said the block was cracked.)

I'm a graduate student. I don't really have the $2,200 (total cost) he's saying it will cost, and I don't know that I would have agreed to the job had I known what it was going into it -- replacing an engine on a car with 190k miles!! -- which I feel like I should have known.

Can someone please shoot me straight about what a mechanic's obligations are to their customer? Is a major misdiagnosis reasonable under certain circumstances? Or is it reasonable for me to expect him to let me off the hook for the work already done? Or is the car worth fixing if only to sell?!

THANK YOU.
Old 01-25-2018
Administrator
Hey! Look At Me!! I'm a Supporting Member!!
Administrator

Received 1,144 Likes on 799 Posts