Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

whistling noise now car won't start

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2016
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
carlaupl is an unknown quantity at this point
Unhappy whistling noise now car won't start

Hello All- newbie here

I'm experiencing some real difficulty diagnosing my issue with my 2010 Honda Civic - it started about 2mo ago when I went to get in my car and all my instrument panel lights were off and my car was completely dead - (the day before my car drove fine as usual) - got my car jumped started and figured I needed to replace the battery since it was approx. 2yrs old....FYI - when I was getting my car was jumped, it started right up but within 5 mins of warming up, a loud whistling noise started and what looked like smoke was actually feron spraying out of some kind of valve near my A/C compressor - everything still was running normally with car and I had no warning lights on.. I proceeded with getting a new battery and car seemed fine but losing feron had me worried so I took it to my mechanic who confirmed that the release happened due to my car being completely dead and there was pressure built up in the compressor, so as a safety mechanism, it released the feron because there was no place for it to go...He check my alternator and add feron back into the system and off i went into the sunset....