1st - 5th Generation Civic 1973 - 1995 In the years from 1973 to 1995 Honda released its 1-5th Generation Civics.
1st Gen 1972 - July 1979
2nd Gen 1979 - 1983
3rd Gen 1984 - 1987
4th Gen 1987 - 1991
5th Gen 1992 - 1995

Gauge cluster swap? 95 DX coupe

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2013
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
91olds98 is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Gauge cluster swap? 95 DX coupe

Hello there, I looked around and couldn't find any posts like this so I'm hoping someone will help me. I've just recently bought a 95 DX coupe that has pretty much as few options as possible (manual steering and all). I really love how basic it is except for one major thing. This car was built with no tach. If it were automatic I wouldn't care, but I really like having a tach with a stick.

What I would like to do is take the cluster from a 5th gen civic that DID have a factory tach and put it in my car and wire it in and have it work. I've been a mechanic for two years and I'm pretty good with electronics. That being said, I usually work on American cars and this is a bit different. Also, I know it can't just be as easy as swapping the clusters and everything just magically connects and works. But I figure that somewhere in the wide world of tuners, someone, somewhere has to have done this. I understand that I have the d15b7 and most cars with the tach had d16's and the redline would be different, but I don't care, I'm just really big on keeping things stock/sleeper looking.

Other minor nitpick; my car also hasn't got the factory in-dash clock. I can find them online very cheap, is that a hard thing to wire in? Is that possible?

Just for the record, my intentions for the car are the good ole "mini-me" d16z6 head swap w/ skunk2 intake manifold, upgraded pistons and rods and the metal y8 head gasket, whole new exhaust and swapping in an ex or Si trans.