6th Generation Civic 1996 - 2000 In the years from 1996 to 2000 Honda released it's 6th Generation Civic.
Chassis codes: EK9, EK4, EK3, EJ6, EJ8, EJ9, EM1

Ecu problems

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2016
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
cscounts is an unknown quantity at this point
Ecu problems

I am new to this whole forum thing so just bare with me. I got an p28 ecu from a buddy that came with his car he bought a while back he wasnt using it so he let me have it. The ecu is chipped and i was planning on putting it in my car and gettig a tune for it but imwas just seeing what it was going to do with the chip it has in the ecu. My car is a 95 civic ex. When i plugged it into my harness it started up just fine but it was idling weird like my car had a cam in it but its a stock d16z6. I know that its not the iacv cause it dont have a pulsing idle like the iacv is bad. It would only rev to about 4000-4500 rpm and it would back fire. I figured it had launch control tuned on it or something but it would only go that high driving down the road to so i dont know what is wromg with it if the guy before him had done it wrong or what but it has stickers on it that look like it went to a shop to get the chip put in it but im not sure. Any help would be nice because i would like to use it for a turbo build eventually. Thank you.
Old 01-15-2016
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts
ezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Ecu problems

I got an p28 ecu from a buddy
its a stock d16z6
Put your correct ECU back in.
Old 01-15-2016
Registered!!