6th Generation Civic 1996 - 2000 In the years from 1996 to 2000 Honda released it's 6th Generation Civic.
Chassis codes: EK9, EK4, EK3, EJ6, EJ8, EJ9, EM1

Cylinder plating?

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2013
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
woodly1069 is an unknown quantity at this point
Cylinder plating?

Hey guys I'm sure this will be an easy question for most but since I am a noob I thought I would post this question. I just got around to pulling the head off my 2000 Civic cause it has been loosing antifreeze slowly. No drips, smelled like it was burning it in the combustion chambers, (smell from exhaust). My question is this, the cylinders look as if there is silver coating missing in spots. The bores are still smooth as glass but it looks odd to me. The car never smokes or uses oil so I am not sure. Did Honda use a Nikasil coating or something in the bores from the factory? Is this something to worry about? Head and block look OK and I don't really see where the head gasket would have been leaking internally...thanks for any thoughts!

Please keep in mind that I just pulled the head 15 minutes prior to these photos and what appears to be rust is not, it is totally smooth. This is why I posted the question the way I did about the Nikasil plating...

Last edited by woodly1069; 05-23-2013 at 09:33 PM.
Old 05-23-2013
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts
ezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Cylinder plating?

Kinda looks like it's starting to rust......