6th Generation Civic 1996 - 2000 In the years from 1996 to 2000 Honda released it's 6th Generation Civic.
Chassis codes: EK9, EK4, EK3, EJ6, EJ8, EJ9, EM1

Car still overheating

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2012
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
thunderfck23 is an unknown quantity at this point
Car still overheating

Hey guys - newbie here

I have a '97 Civic Ex and for the past year or so my car has been overheating when I'm at a stop, specifically when I have the AC on. Since then I've replaced the fan sensor which fixed the fan, flushed the radiator, had tune ups done and made sure all hoses are on correctly. None of this has worked.

Every 2 days I have to replace the coolant because there's no more in the overflow tank.. and then it overheats again. From what I've seen, there's no coolant on the ground after driving so it's probably not a hose.

Anyways, a mechanic 2 years ago said I had a cracked manifold. Could this be causing my car to overheat? I smell a burning smell every time I get out of the car. Could the coolant be evaporating on the engine?

I don't really know much about cars so thanks for any help.
Old 10-02-2012
Registered!!

thunderfck23 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Car still overheating

Also, I had my thermostat replaced 2 years ago
Old 10-02-2012
Registered!!

zXeX is an unknown quantity at this point