6th Generation Civic 1996 - 2000 In the years from 1996 to 2000 Honda released it's 6th Generation Civic.
Chassis codes: EK9, EK4, EK3, EJ6, EJ8, EJ9, EM1

98 Civic Coupe DX Tach Signal Wire?

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2010
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
boozbuster673 is an unknown quantity at this point
98 Civic Coupe DX Tach Signal Wire?

Hey all, I'm new to civicforums and this is my first post so hello to all the vets here. I've recently bought an aftermarket 52mm or 2" Tachometer because my DX does not have on in the cluster. Installation requires a tachometer signal wire or sender to gauge the RPM's from the engine. Where can i find this wire and what would be the best route to take installing my tach? Thanks and i appreciate all answers from everyone! PS. feel free to call me a noob or whatever because i cant deny the obvious. ;p
Old 12-19-2010
Premium Member
Hey! Look At Me!! I'm a Supporting Member!!

Received 18 Likes on 13 Posts
gearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 98 Civic Coupe DX Tach Signal Wire?

well unfortunately i cant answer your question as im not familiar with the older civic wiring, but usually the rpm wire is on the gauge cluster harness already. and more than likely you could swap in an EX cluster with tach from the same year and it will work no problem. that might be an easier solution and cleaner too. but you would have to find a cluster that has similar miles to your car. and remember coupes and sedans might have different backlighting color. ebay is a good place to start (search for '98 civic cluster').