7th Generation Civic 2001 - 2005 In the years from 2001 to 2005 Honda released it's 7th Generation Civic.
Chassis codes: EM2, ES1, EP3, EU1

2002 Honda Civic LX automatic vtec swap

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2018
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Joezeller98 is an unknown quantity at this point
2002 Honda Civic LX automatic vtec swap

Hello
i am a huge noob when it comes to engine swaps
i have a 2002 Honda Civic LX automatic non-vtec and I'm wanting to try my hand at swapping the engine with a vtec one. This is the one im looking at on eBay: https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.com%2Fulk%2Fitm%2F20 2218816364
will that work with an automatic transmission? And if not, is there a different auto transmission I should get?

Thanks for any help.

~joe
Old 08-05-2018
Registered!!

Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts
Slumpertcivic is a name known to allSlumpertcivic is a name known to allSlumpertcivic is a name known to allSlumpertcivic is a name known to allSlumpertcivic is a name known to allSlumpertcivic is a name known to allSlumpertcivic is a name known to allSlumpertcivic is a name known to allSlumpertcivic is a name known to all
Re: 2002 Honda Civic LX automatic vtec swap

Good place to start.

If your keeping your current PCM and adding a vtec controller you don’t need to worry about your transmission or O2 sensor wire harnesses or getting reflash or speed input errors.

If your going to replace the PCM with one from a EX, find a donor car and take everything.....

Old 08-06-2018
Registered!!

Originally Posted by Slumpertcivic
Good place to start.

If your keeping your current PCM and adding a vtec controller you don’t need to worry about your transmission or O2 sensor wire harnesses or getting reflash or speed input errors.

If your going to replace the PCM with one from a EX, find a donor car and take everything.....

Thanks so much for your help!