7th Generation Civic 2001 - 2005 In the years from 2001 to 2005 Honda released it's 7th Generation Civic.
Chassis codes: EM2, ES1, EP3, EU1
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

2001 Civic - Replacing the AC Compressor Help

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2017
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Okniep is an unknown quantity at this point
Question 2001 Civic - Replacing the AC Compressor Help

Hello, I'm new to doing this. I have an '01 Civic LX which I've been told by a mechanic that it has a bad compressor. I only have ac (no cold air) problems. I've read most all of the thread posts in regards to the DIY on here and I'm just looking for some clear newbie help. I have a handful of questions that I don't see clear answers for.

1. What is the OEM brand for this compressor?
2. What other parts (drier,expansion valve, condenser, gaskets) are necessary to buy OEM and are those the same brand as the compressor?
3. How can I tell if my condenser needs replaced?
4. Is it really feasible to be able to replace the ac without removing the alternator, power steering pump, bumper, and light? (Again, I'm new. The only "challenging" things I've changed on this car myself is the radiator and valve cover gaskets, and I know those aren't all the hard, lol)
5. How do you know if your compressor has "blown up"? I don't hear any particularly strange noises and so I don't know if there would be metal in the system. The only problem I know that it's causing me is the obvious, no cold air.

I'm just having a hard time finding clear answers to these questions. I'd be very grateful for any help.
Old 05-10-2017
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts