7th Generation Civic 2001 - 2005 In the years from 2001 to 2005 Honda released it's 7th Generation Civic.
Chassis codes: EM2, ES1, EP3, EU1
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

spraying water on my engine?

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2016
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
greenbackz is an unknown quantity at this point
spraying water on my engine?

my mechanic was out of town so i went to one of those quick oil change places to get a simple oil change. I usually avoid those places because i've heard plenty of horror stories about them..

anyways long story short they changed my oil and then after he was cleaning the top of my engine with a rag i guess to get a little bit of oil that may have spilled.. then he gets a hose and sprayed a bunch of water on my engine it was still hot so it was steaming like crazy.. wtf?!

now i'm not a mechanic or anything, but in my head i was like WTF ARE U DOING? i don't think i've ever seen that before so though it was a bit odd..

should i be worried about possible block damage or something or u think it will be fine? i didn't see any cracks and everything is running fine but damn.. didn't seem like something you should be doing..

anyone else have any similar experiences?

Last edited by greenbackz; 04-01-2016 at 04:46 PM.
Old 04-01-2016
Registered!!

Reverb2005 is a glorious beacon of lightReverb2005 is a glorious beacon of lightReverb2005 is a glorious beacon of lightReverb2005 is a glorious beacon of lightReverb2005 is a glorious beacon of lightReverb2005 is a glorious beacon of light
Re: spraying water on my engine?

That is messed up.....

First of all, you should keep water away from the engine at all costs. If you really have to, just wipe it down with some engine de-greaser. Actually, I would wipe my engine down WITH some sort of lubricant just to keep water from causing any possible oxidation.

Did you get a pic or video of this idiocy?