7th Generation Civic 2001 - 2005 In the years from 2001 to 2005 Honda released it's 7th Generation Civic.
Chassis codes: EM2, ES1, EP3, EU1

An Engine Swap Story

Old 10-07-2013
krs
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
krs is an unknown quantity at this point
An Engine Swap Story

All,

I thought I would share my experience doing an engine swap as the effort progresses.

As a bit of background, the car had around 165,000, and threw a rod through the block. I have only done one other engine swap (Ford Ranger), so I am no expert mechanic! I do have the Civic service manual, and am pretty much following that.

On the engine removal, everything went reasonably well and easily. One challenge was regarding the ball joints. I have a standard ball joint tool, but that will not work given the half-axles being in the way. OReilly had the same sort of tool...

Instead, I opted to remove the bolts connecting the wheel and pivoted the wheel out, and was able to remove the half-axles.

By removing the rear motor mount assembly from the engine a long with the side motor mounts and battery plate, we removed the motor and transmission from the top rather than the bottom.

I had a friend helping, and would estimate it took us 9 hours to get the engine out...

I have located a couple engine possibilities per some help on this forum on engine types. Found a 2004 non-vtec engine with 77,000 and a 90 day warranty for $750 that we are thinking on getting. Another option is another 2004 with 102,000 for $500.

Regards
Old 10-07-2013
krs
Registered!!

Re: An Engine Swap Story

A few quick pics...
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	20131001_190749.jpg
Views:	106
Size:	73.3 KB
ID:	85798   Click image for larger version

Name:	20131006_164944.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	84.2 KB
ID:	85799   Click image for larger version

Name:	20131006_181206.jpg
Views:	301
Size:	66.2 KB
ID:	85800  

Last edited by krs; 10-07-2013 at 11:43 AM.
Old 10-07-2013