8th & 9th Generation Civic 2006 - 2015 9th Gen 2012 - 2015.
8th Gen 2006 - 2011.
9th Gen Chassis Codes: FB2, FB4, FB6, FG 3, FG4.
8th Gen Chassis Codes: FG1, FG2, FA1, FA3, FA5.

How check cvt fluid level?

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2016
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
rponfick is an unknown quantity at this point
How check cvt fluid level?

I have a 2014 Civic and I just noticed in the owner's manual that the cvt fluid level should be check monthly (and by the dealer). I am a college graduate and figured I was smart enough to do this. Found the rubber plug in the tranny with a small wire handle to pull it out. Unfortunately the handle wire extended about 1/4 inch into the reservoir. No dipstick or anything that you could determine proper fluid level.

I am confused. Do they really expect you to go to the dealer monthly, and probably be charged for a maintenance visit the check the fluid level?

What am I missing?

Ralph
Old 02-27-2016
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts
ezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond repute
Re: How check cvt fluid level?

Originally Posted by rponfick
I have a 2014 Civic and just noticed in the owners manual to have the cvt fluid checked monthly by the dealer. This has to be a mistake. I looked for a dipstick on the tranny and found the rubber plug. There is no rod into the reservoir to check anything.

Is this some type of ripoff, or what don't I understand.

Ralph
At least you looked in the owners manual. Good job!

It is no mistake, but once a month is probably overkill IMO unless you are having issues....