8th & 9th Generation Civic 2006 - 2015 9th Gen 2012 - 2015.
8th Gen 2006 - 2011.
9th Gen Chassis Codes: FB2, FB4, FB6, FG 3, FG4.
8th Gen Chassis Codes: FG1, FG2, FA1, FA3, FA5.

Poor Gas Mileage in 09 Civic

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2013
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
castigo is an unknown quantity at this point
Poor Gas Mileage in 09 Civic

I have just purchased a used 09 Civic. Auto transmission, 34K miles, good shape. This vehicle is supposed to be rated at 38mpg, but the best so far has been 31. I am a good driver and don't "gun it". 80% or more of my miles are highway miles.
I expect much more mpg out of this car than what I'm getting. I am hoping you all can help me find how to get more like 34mpg, which is what my 14-year-old Toyota got. I like this car but am pissed off that I only get 31 mpg.
Please help?
Old 11-30-2013
Super Moderator

Received 21 Likes on 8 Posts
Poopies is a glorious beacon of lightPoopies is a glorious beacon of lightPoopies is a glorious beacon of lightPoopies is a glorious beacon of lightPoopies is a glorious beacon of lightPoopies is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Poor Gas Mileage in 09 Civic

What trim level is your car? I.e. DX, LX, EX? My '03 EX is lucky if it crosses 32mpg these days. We had a good discussion about that here:
https://www.civicforums.com/forums/1...nce-i-saw.html

It also depends on where you live (my mileage dropped since I moved up from AZ to WA) and the season. Since it's winter, the fuel sold at a lot of gas stations has more ethanol in it. This lowers the freezing temperature but also fuel efficiency. I read that in the same thread:
Originally Posted by noJeepshere