Air Conditioning Post issues about air conditioning here

'08 Civic LX Sedan, AC Compresser won't engage

Old 05-18-2013
Ohmster

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Ohmster is an unknown quantity at this point
Angry '08 Civic LX Sedan, AC Compresser won't engage

Hey guys,
My 08 Civic is a beautiful car, love it to death. Always had ice cold air conditioning. It stopped working about a week ago, compressor would come on for about a minute, then clutch would release compressor, never kicks in again. I checked the refrigerant, I lowered it a bit on the low side from 90 to about 75 PSI. But that compressor will not turn on again. I thin there are two sensors, one on the compressor and one at the receiver/dryer, somewhere in the passenger compartment. Also a relay for A/C compressor in the under hood relay/fuse box. I swapped out the relay, nothing. Don't know how to check the other sensors, although I am an electronic tech and know how to use a digital meter.

I heard the best place to start tracking this problem is that the relay, but what wires to check, how to get at them, and how to figure out what is bad. I hope that it is not the computer. No other problems with car, other than passenger mirror no longer adjusts with motor. I cannot find a service manual or diagrams for this 2008 Civic anywhere and am too poor right now to buy one. Somebody help me please. Links, diagrams, advice, pictures, anything would help a lot. Thanks guys!
Old 05-18-2013
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts
ezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond repute