8th & 9th Generation Civic 2006 - 2015 9th Gen 2012 - 2015.
8th Gen 2006 - 2011.
9th Gen Chassis Codes: FB2, FB4, FB6, FG 3, FG4.
8th Gen Chassis Codes: FG1, FG2, FA1, FA3, FA5.

2009 LX-S Rear Brake Caliper Assy

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2011
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
dragonfly888 is an unknown quantity at this point
2009 LX-S Rear Brake Caliper Assy

Hi:
Newbie here. I have been a long-time Honda owner since I had a 1993 Civic (which I loved).
I am in Canada.
I just purchased a 2009 LX-S, used, from an Acura dealer in my town (August 2011). Appx 38K, nice looking, clean and drove okay up until last week.
Last Thursday (now have about 48k on the car) I started hearing a clunking sound in the rear. It sounded like, perhaps, the shocks were bad or something, but I did notice that the noise only happened when I was turning and went away when I applied the brakes.
I drove home, mostly on expressways and, when I was about 2km from home, I heard a big clunking noise in the rear and... I was without brakes... completely. As there was very little traffic, I inched myself home, got out of the car and noticed a pool of brake fluid around the right rear tire.
I had the car towed to where I bought it and they inspected it and told me that the 2 bolts on the Caliper Assy were nowhere to be seen (came off, not broken or sheared off), the caliper assembly, pads and rotor were damaged and that would be $500 to repair.
Since buying the car I had the car in a shop only once, for 30 minutes (I waited) to have my all-season tires removed and my winter tires (already on rims and balanced) installed.
Now the Acura Dealer is accusing the Tire Shop of leaving the bolts on the caliper assembly un-torqued. (They never had time to look at the brakes... I waited only 30 minutes... and they are a reputable establishment with many locations around Ontario).