Fuel, Oil, Cleaners & Other Maintenance Extending the life of your Civic requires the proper fuel, oil, and cleaners, along with other regularly scheduled maintenance.

EGR fix

Old 03-18-2015
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
RNC4806 is an unknown quantity at this point
EGR fix

Hello everyone I'm new to this so just bear ( I hope I spelled that right) with me. I have a 97 Honda Civic HX with 155k on it.
I had my check engine light came on and it was my EGR valve, 170 bucks at Autozone. I did some research and gave this a try..... I used "Seafoam" you can buy it at any parts store or walmart for 8 bucks give and take. I bought the 16oz can not the area ol can. What I did was disconnected the vaccum line from the brake booster that goes into the engine and added it that way. To be honest I used all of it cause it sucked it out pretty quick. Really you need to use about 1/3 to 1/2 of it. Anyways when disconnect the brake booster line FROM the booster to the engine the engine will rev up and down then start adding the seafoam, you will see white smoke so don't freak out, after you add the 1/3 to 1/2 can turn the engine off and let it sit for about I say 5 to 10 minutes, reconnect the brake vaccum line, disconnect your NEGATIVE battery cable for about 30 seconds and reconnect it back. start up your car, drive it around a couple of miles. Your check engine light should not come back on and you will feel better performance in your Honda. I hope that this helps.
Old 03-23-2015
Dr Krieger of Modification

Received 84 Likes on 58 Posts
mac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to behold
Re: EGR fix

It's better to have the car off.
Disconnect the brake booster and conect the Fuel system cleaner kit/seafoam.