DIY: Polyurethane Preping and Painting (Body kits etc.)

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2012
CO&CA

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
TFMEX is a jewel in the roughTFMEX is a jewel in the roughTFMEX is a jewel in the rough
DIY: Polyurethane Preping and Painting (Body kits etc.)

So this is my first attempt at a DIY and it took me some research to find out how to "properly" prep and paint my urethane lip so I took some pictures as I went through the process and it came out really good so I figured I'd share what I did.

Materials Needed:
-Rubbing alcohol or wax / grease remover
-Adhesion Promoter
-Sandable Primer
-Auto Paint (whatever color you want)
-Clear Coat (I ended up using 2 cans)
-400 and 600 grit sandpaper
-Clean place to paint and associated materials like plastic if you're painting the parts off your car or painters tape and plastic to protect surrounding parts from over spray. I painted it off my car.

Name:  IMG_4054.jpg
Views: 16993
Size:  251.2 KB
IMG_4055.jpg?t=1336959668

1. Make sure the part you're going to install FITS!!!!! You don't want to do all this work and realize you need to make modifications. In my case the lip needed to be pre-fit and I did that before this process to have pilot holes drilled etc.

2. Prep your lip or other part by LIGHTLY sanding with 400 grit sandpaper. The goal is only scuff up the surface to assist with adhesion of the promoter and the primer.

3. Take the alcohol or wax / grease remover (I used alcohol) and wipe the surface clean. I wiped until my rag wasn't picking up black dust from sanding. Let dry (if using alcohol it's pretty fast)

4. Time to use the adhesion promoter! I hung my lip and made kind of a little spray booth (as you can see in the pic below) Use the promoter according to the directions on the can. I used dupicolor and I had to spray the primer within 10 minutes of the final coat of the promoter so make sure you READ the directions.