O2 sensor causing MIL

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2013
Registered!!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
cbjfan2009 is an unknown quantity at this point
O2 sensor causing MIL

Hi folks, this is my first post here. I'm new to car repairs and am very green.
My wife's 2001 Honda Civic EX 5-speed, all factory-standard equipment, has had an SRS light and MIL for some time. I found out the SRS light was likely caused by electromagnetic interference with the OPDS sensor in the passenger seat. I reset that with the paperclip jumper method and it hasn't come back.
For the CEL/MIL I bought an Bluetooth OBDII connector and paired it to the "Torque" program to read the trouble codes. I got code:

<table class="one" cellspacing="0"><caption>P0141 - Generic</caption> <tbody><tr> <th>Type</th> <td>Powertrain - Fuel and Air Metering - ISO/SAE Controlled</td> </tr> <tr> <th>Description</th> <td>O2 Sensor Heater Circuit
</td> </tr> <tr> <th>Location</th> <td>Bank 1 Sensor 2</td></tr></tbody></table> or
<table class="one" cellspacing="0"><caption>P0141 - Honda</caption> <tbody><tr> <th>Type</th> <td>Powertrain - Fuel and Air Metering - ISO/SAE Controlled</td> </tr> <tr> <th>Description</th> <td>Secondary air injection (AIR) pump - malfunction
</td> </tr> <tr> <th>Cause</th> <td>Wiring, AIR pump relay, AIR pump, ECM
</td></tr></tbody></table>
http://www.dtcsearch.com/P0141/

I'll be honest, I don't know jack about car insides. But, I really want to start learning and fixing. I have Alldata 10.40 ("AD" from now on) at my disposal.
1) AD tells me to reset the ECM/PCM. This is accomplished by disconnecting the battery terminals for ~30 minutes, correct? If there's a better way, please advise.
2) AD tells me to start engine after reset and observe for the DTC. I will do this after someone has indicated the best route to reset the ECM.
Thanks a tons folks.
Old 11-05-2013
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts