Turbo Post information/questions about Turbo here!

Boost a D17A2??

Old 07-12-2010
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Mr.VTEC has a spectacular aura aboutMr.VTEC has a spectacular aura about
Boost a D17A2??

I am thinkin about slappin a turbo on my03 EX. i just have a few questions. Im sure the stock motor can only handle about 10 pounds. But will I run into any problmes if I leave EVERYTHING untouched and just put the turbo kit on?

I mean no tune..iignition....fuel....just a turbo kit. how would that go over?
Old 07-12-2010
Registered!!

grendel has a spectacular aura aboutgrendel has a spectacular aura about
Re: Boost a D17A2??

I'm no expert, but I'd guess you'd be able to safely handle 5-8 lbs of boost with stock internals, etc.

Dunno why you'd want a turbo without at least a tune, though.
Old 07-12-2010
Administrator
Hey! Look At Me!! I'm a Supporting Member!!
Administrator

Received 1,144 Likes on 799 Posts
xRiCeBoYx has a reputation beyond reputexRiCeBoYx has a reputation beyond reputexRiCeBoYx has a reputation beyond reputexRiCeBoYx has a reputation beyond reputexRiCeBoYx has a reputation beyond reputexRiCeBoYx has a reputation beyond reputexRiCeBoYx has a reputation beyond reputexRiCeBoYx has a reputation beyond reputexRiCeBoYx has a reputation beyond reputexRiCeBoYx has a reputation beyond reputexRiCeBoYx has a reputation beyond repute

Yea.. don't do that. When I boosted my car, it was only 2.5psi (wastegate actuator problem) with rsx-s injectors and using a VAFC-II to tune it, and even that had me run into problems. My car's back to n/a with just bolt-ons now.
Old 07-12-2010
Registered!!

Yeah it was just an idea....im going to stick with bolt ons and the simple stuff. I ahve another question though. After CAI and exhaust..whats another good mod for the D17? Cam maybe? Fuel? Ignition?
Old 07-13-2010
Whachya lookin at?

Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts