Wheels, Tires & Brakes Modifications Post Wheel, Tire & Brake related modification information and/or questions here

Tools for Brake Job

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2017
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newb4159 is an unknown quantity at this point
Tools for Brake Job

Hey guys, i am completely new to doing any work on my car. I got a used manual civic handed down by my brother and I need to work on it. I have watched many videos on how to replace brakes since its one of the easiest things to do, so i heard. I just need the right tools so if anyone could be very specific as to what tools are needed. I can't afford a compete set of tools now but I plan on building my tool set as i go along. If you could also link to where i can buy the needed tools it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks alot!
Old 03-21-2017
"Marge, anyone could miss Canada! All tucked away down there."

Received 1,122 Likes on 937 Posts
Colin42 is a name known to allColin42 is a name known to allColin42 is a name known to allColin42 is a name known to allColin42 is a name known to allColin42 is a name known to allColin42 is a name known to all
Re: Tools for Brake Job

Front or rear?
Front I think its 14 and 17 for the caliper and bracket (If you plan on doing a lot of your own work you should buy decent a socket set), I use a big pair of channel locks and an old pad to push the piston back. For bleeding the brakes line wrenches are a good idea since they grip better.

Rear hammer to loosen up the drum and then 10mm bolts in the threaded holes to back it off. There's special drum tools you can buy but i just use a pocket screwdriver, side cutters, and a couple different pairs of small needle nose plies for all the hardware. Line wrench for bleeding. and I think its a 12 or a 14 for the wheel cylinder. You should be buying a whole socket set anyways so as long as you make sure you buy one with metric sockets you should be fine.

Brake lube on parts that rub together, use sparingly.