Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

2003 Honda Civic LX

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2017
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
jimbochamp is an unknown quantity at this point
2003 Honda Civic LX

FIX or REPLACE ???
transmission and front wheel bearings

Hi, I'm a newbie to the forum.

I have a 2003 Honda Civic and I'm wondering if it's worth fixing. I bought it new and cared for it properly over the last 14 years thru the dealer. It currently has 231,000 miles on it and still makes me feel I'll get the full 320k out of it I thought I would when I bought it. I should mention it's been hit three or four times so the roof and all four doors need to be repainted the original Nighhawk black.

Recently I've been told I need front wheel bearings on both sides and a rebuilt transmission. The dealer quoted me $2500 for the Trans and $1000 for the wheel bearings. $3500 total is a little steep so I'm reaching to find out if anyone is actually getting 320k miles out of this version of Civic.

Should I fix it or upgrade to a newer vehicle is the dilemma I am faced with now and I need to decide soon cause I can't keep driving it like it is.

Thank you for your opinion!
Old 03-23-2017
Registered!!

Received 53 Likes on 38 Posts
NDNV is a glorious beacon of lightNDNV is a glorious beacon of lightNDNV is a glorious beacon of lightNDNV is a glorious beacon of lightNDNV is a glorious beacon of lightNDNV is a glorious beacon of light
Re: 2003 Honda Civic LX

I wouldn't put $3500 into it.

Get a second opinion on the repairs. I think both quotes are high.

Member ezone can provide a better estimate for wheel bearing replacement but wait until you decide on the rebuilding the transmission or not first.