Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Newbie here - '04 Start and shift lock probs

Old 03-10-2017
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
my3gr8boyz is an unknown quantity at this point
Newbie here - '04 Start and shift lock probs

Hi, I've read these forums before but never had to ask a question. My '04 Coupe is behaving weird and unfortunately, intermittently. Husband noticed that a couple times recently, the dash lit up D and P at the same time. Car didn't start. Fiddled shifter (I think), D light went off, and car started. Makes sense. The other day, shifter locked. Used key to unlock it. But car would not start. Brake lights work. Solonoid clicks. Dash did not indicate P and D simultaneously. Did not check battery connections, but all inside dash lights bright. When I went outside one more time to check how much the headlights dimmed when attempting to turn over engine, and the car started with no problem whatsoever. Gear shifter staying unstuck.

I've read about transmission range switches, which seems the most likely problem to me since the car had been showing the two gears at once. I'm not sure if I can do the work myself or if my husband has the time to diagnose a lot of what I read about. I was hoping the specific symptoms would give us a place to start. But it's not doing it now, so checking things can be tough. But I'm hesitant to drive it because it could just happen again at any moment.