Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Clunky Noise on Idle

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2016
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
LeadPipeFill is an unknown quantity at this point
Clunky Noise on Idle

Hey all,
I've been having a periodic noise coming from my engine, but it only happens at idle.
But recently it has gotten worse and I'm worried as to what it's building up to.
As soon as I put the car in gear and drive away it stops making the noise.

I'm no mechanic, but I can remove and replace things as needed with some instruction, but I don't know where to start with this noise. I had a friend look at it and he thinks it's a pulley bearing that's wrecked and the pulley wobbles when it's not under tension from the motor.

I've attached a short video on the noise it's making.
The car is automatic, with the 1.7 SOHC and it was 248,000 KM (or 154,100 Mi for my southern neighbors).

Thanks.
Attached Files
File Type: avi
20161019_192708.avi (2.85 MB, 45 views)

Last edited by LeadPipeFill; 10-19-2016 at 08:18 PM.
Old 10-19-2016
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts
ezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Clunky Noise on Idle

I assume you mean the compressor pulley wobbles while making this noise.....?
The bearing inside that pulley is worn out.

If the AC system still blows cold air, I would just replace the clutch/pulley set along with the field coil.