Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

battery question

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2015
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
trellex is an unknown quantity at this point
battery question

Update: July 2
Just to confirm, yes, the battery light was on when the car was running.

I did all the trouble shooting as Ezone described, so I'm replacing the alternator. The battery light went off when I unplugged the 4 wire connector.

I have just been hit with another problem: when I removed the alternator, the upper mounting bolt was missing. Any one know the size out where I could find that info? Furthermore, could that be why the alternator is pooched now? How does that even happen? I've never worked on an alternator removal before, so maybe someone forgot to put the bolt back in or maybe it just "fell" out?

Thanks again!

------
Update: June 29
So I went a head and looked up some tests. I'm confused at where I should go with the information that I have.

I tested my new 12v battery, and it sits at about 12.6v. I turned on the car and the reading dropped to 12.18v. Does that mean that the alternator is dead?

I checked the belt on the alternator - it's on, and spinning, and I gave it a little squeeze with some slack, but most of it is from bending or pulling at the alternator.

What should I do now? Should I just replace the alternator? Are there other diagnostics I could do to check if maybe there's a loose connection? Please, any information would help.

cheers.

------
Original Post: June 28

My battery died after just being under 2 years old. The shop said the old one didn't hold a charge after trying to charge it back up. I got a new one under warranty.

I also purchased a multimeter.