Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

RPM isn't right... VIDEOS INSIDE

Old 04-15-2014
Respect All, Fear No One

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ATMJDM01 is an unknown quantity at this point
Question RPM isn't right... VIDEOS INSIDE

Okay so a little back story. As another thread I had showed my Cluster self test. The needles are sitting wrong and just off from where they are supposed to be but I've come to get use to it and learned how to read it.

Now, I captured 2 videos today to show the speedometer and the RPM's. I'm not good at explaing but the problem lies where the RPM's just drags and dips when it shifts (I have an automatic 2001 Civic BTW) When I go WOT, it does a little better but still is VERY HESITANT. Any ideas how to fix this? would the valve adjustments and a new IACV help the issue? Will a brand new Cluster fix the needles which in turn help the issue?

I have had a test done at a shop where they hooked up a computer while we drove and the numbers were correct, it was just the cluster reading wrong....

Old 04-15-2014
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts
ezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond repute
Re: RPM isn't right... VIDEOS INSIDE

RPM slight drop but road speed is continues increasing, I'd expect that to be the TCC engaging. Looks about like what I'd expect, but I'd prefer to see how it drives firsthand, myself.

Your 2nd video does not appear to be WOT.