Detailing Look here for questions and answers on detailing and washing your car etc.

stupid question about detailing

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2005
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
civicPesek is an unknown quantity at this point
stupid question about detailing

hey when you guys talked about dressing the engine, is that something that you used to make the rubber or plastic parts shiny? is it like the armor all tire foam? because i tried using that and it didn't make the plastic/rubber parts shiny.
what brand would you recommend?
i'm really a noob when it comes to detailing
Old 11-14-2005

soonercivic is a jewel in the roughsoonercivic is a jewel in the roughsoonercivic is a jewel in the roughsoonercivic is a jewel in the rough
Well if you want to do it the easy way you can go to the auto part store and buy a can of citrus cleaner that has a 2 stage tip that sprays cleaner and then detailer. If you want to do it right you need to cover your alternator and your intake if you have an aftermarket one. Then use a degreasing cleaner, i like simple green or Meguiars All Purpose Cleaner, you will probably need to wipe down certain parts. Then rinse, i suggest letting the engine run for about 15-20 minutes and dry as much as possible. Then i use Meguiars Hyper Dressing that provides that clean shine. Heres an example, not mine, of that method so you know what it can do.
Before

After
Old 11-14-2005
Registered!!

DDragon7 is a glorious beacon of lightDDragon7 is a glorious beacon of lightDDragon7 is a glorious beacon of lightDDragon7 is a glorious beacon of lightDDragon7 is a glorious beacon of light
Wow, looks new... Gotta try that after the old man winter rolls thru.
Old 11-20-2005
Registered!!

could you tell me where to get the Meguiars Hyper Dressing? I tried walmart and they dont have it.
Old 11-20-2005
Registered!!

jonw440 is an unknown quantity at this point