General Automotive Discussion General automotive discussion and chat. Honda, Toyota, Chevrolet, Ford. It doesn't matter, just talk about it here.

What socket sizes do I need for working on a Civic?

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2016
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
civicenthusiast is an unknown quantity at this point
What socket sizes do I need for working on a Civic?

Hi everyone, I'm very eager to start working on my civic, problem is I'm new to this and would like some clarification so I don't waste money on things I don't need. Specifically with sockets. From what I understand I'll need 1/4"-1" or 6mm-19mm combo wrench set, and I'd like to buy a socket set that includes what I need, and I couldn't find anything on google that told me all the sockets I'd need. I have an impact driver, and apparently you need impact sockets because chrome can shatter or something. Could I get a hex socket set or just get normal impact sockets and use a socket adapter? I've seen 1/4 -3/4 sets for sale etc and I'm not sure what sizes I'll need. I'd like to know the sizes needed before I get my repair manual and start working on things. Thanks.
Old 07-08-2016
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts
ezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond repute
Re: What socket sizes do I need for working on a Civic?

99% of the car will use some form of 8, 10, 12, 14, 17, 19 mm wrenches/sockets/etc.....as equipped from the factory. Humans could replace fasteners with god-knows-whatever-was-handy-in-a-pinch.

Axle nuts are bigger.