Just completed my valve clearance, and WOW!!! + A FEW TIPS

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2010
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Nosepicker is a jewel in the roughNosepicker is a jewel in the roughNosepicker is a jewel in the roughNosepicker is a jewel in the rough
Just completed my valve clearance, and WOW!!! + A FEW TIPS

I'm like a total noob when it comes to working on cars. I can do simple stuff like oil changes, refills, and battery swaps but anything more than that I dread working on cars cuz I have this notion that it's a lot harder and more complicated than working on my motorcycles.

Boy, was I wrong!!!

I just completed my valve clearance and it was 10x easier. Unlike a motorcycle, a few unbolts here & there and BAM! Instant access!! Whereas with a motorcycle you have to unbolt and take apart hell just to get to the valves.

I learned a valuable lesson I hope someone who is like me (a noob) can learn from my experience.

1st thing, following the DIY guide for a 7th Gen valve clearance (that's the only one I can find closest to my 6th Gen) I discovered you don't have to disconnect the battery, which I did. I was afraid I had to reset my stock radio which I didn't have the code for but after I completed the job and reconnected the battery the stock radio didn't ask for a code. Just my presets were back to default settings.

2ndly, you don't have to take off the driver's side front wheel to turn the crankshaft. You can just turn the wheel to the left to access the crankshaft via an extension as pictured below:

Name:  SAM_0989.jpg
Views: 9222
Size:  64.5 KB
Name:  SAM_0990.jpg
Views: 9211
Size:  73.4 KB