Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Miss at lower RPM, worst with temperature.

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2015
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ninetyatecivic is an unknown quantity at this point
Miss at lower RPM, worst with temperature.

Let me start off by saying I am brand new to Civic's. I have a BONE stock 98 civic Lx. 5 speed, d16y7? I believe that is what I have, non-vtec. Not the best with the engine acronyms sorry.

The car drives great over 2100 RPM's when warm. The issue is most prominent when it is cold. There is what feels like, a really bad miss/hesitation under 2000 rpm's at any engine load. IE: Very slow take off, more throttle application, cruising.

It "jerks" forward off idle in first gear, like rolling through a parking lot. The pedal engagement off idle is very harsh. Anything under 2500 rpm's when cold/warming up is jerky and feels like it's surging abruptly as the rpm's climb.

Is this normal for this engine/these cars? Do they need to be shifted at 3000+ rpm's when cold to avoid this? I haven't averaged below 36 MPG so it's running great as far as that goes. I know how to drive a 4 cylinder, I'm not trying to lug it 1400 rpm's up a hill.

Completely stock down to air filter and exhaust. Newer cap and rotor, new fuel filter, NGK plugs that look brand new. All oils been changed, ran 9 oz of Lucas fuel treatment through over the last 3 tanks. Car runs better when fully warm, but it is still there. No codes or lights as well.

Car is new to me, but has been maintained well. Timing belt, wp, oils, everything is working great and hasn't been an abused/toyed with car. This just seems off to me. Thoughts? Normal or...?
Old 05-09-2015
Hey! Look At Me!! I'm a Supporting Member!!

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts