Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

smoking belts... eek!

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2012
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
wilsonaaronm08 is an unknown quantity at this point
smoking belts... eek!

Hi guys!

Lots of informative posts on this site regarding the issue I'm having but none quite as direct as I was hoping for. Let me preface by saying that I don't really work on cars, I'm a high end bicycle mechanic.

Towards the end of this summer I was running low on cash so I parked my car for 2 months and have been biking everywhere (a passion of mine). Unfortunately, my 1997 Honda Civic EX with 295,000 miles didn't appreciate it.

I've been working on starting it the last few days. I replaced the spark plugs, added some gas (just in case), and even had someone help jump the car (thought the battery might not have had enough power). Well, I just got the car finally started (yay!) and the belt started squealing like mad and smoke starting coming out in that area. It smelled like burned rubber. I quickly turned it off to be safe.

I was using belt dressing this summer, as I would have the occasional squeak, but nothing at all like this. Is it too loose or too tight, or is it something a lot worse?

Thanks for everything!
Old 10-06-2012
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts
ezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond repute
Re: smoking belts... eek!

Too loose makes them squeal.
OR a pulley locked up.