Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Hood latch issues

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2012
nub

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
sameer71992 is an unknown quantity at this point
Hood latch issues

What's up guys, I just got this 2000 ex 5 speed. It's my first manual car and all, so I'm still learning...and this is my first post. Anyways, The hood refuses to close all the way. It hooks into the safety latch, but I can't push or slam it into the main latch.

I found somewhere online (I can't remember where) that the problem is within the cable not resetting the latch properly. That is to say, when I open the hood from inside the car, the cable pulls the mechanism to release the main latch, but the locking mechanism does not reset for the hood to lock on again. I also read that pushing the mechanism where the cable attaches to the latch towards the driver side will reset the latch manually.

I haven't tried this yet (since it's dark out), but I'm hoping this will work. Has this method worked for others? What's the best way to fix this problem? Lubricating might work, but I'm low on lube and my girl is coming over tomorrow, so I gotta save... /kidding

lol let me know

edit:
I did search the forums for a similar post. Maybe I got inpatient with searching, but I couldn't find a post with a straightforward answer as to how to fix it, or how others deal with the problem.

Last edited by sameer71992; 07-14-2012 at 09:46 PM.
Old 07-14-2012
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts